Let’s talk about drinking. Shall we?

Related image

When a lot of people, mainly those who drink, hear that others don’t, there’s the temptation to have stereotypical thoughts about them. Even though this may be true sometimes, there are a few of us with different stories. Truth is, I’ve been a victim of the stories that drinking was a sin…until I got presented with different contexts in the bible where drinking seemed okay and then I became speechless.

I can’t even remember one of those biblical scenarios off the top of my head but the bottom line of this is, those reasons don’t even bother me now. There are a lot of things that aren’t sins anyway, if you ask me, and if you carefully study the bible too. But to a large extent, because of the weak faith of others who have believed them to be sin, we are to refrain from them so that our freedom in Christ does not become a stumbling block to their faith (Romans 14:21). So yeah, drinking in itself is not necessarily a sin but I still don’t and won’t drink anyway.

And this is why.

Let me start by explaining that in Christ, we Christians are so much more than some of us think we are. We are royalty, offspring of the greatest King the world has ever had and children of a God, making us gods (Psalm 82:6-7). So there! We are not just normal human beings who are not perfect and struggling to please him in all our imperfection blah blah blah. I understand this makes us feel all lowly and look pious but it isn’t the full truth. This was our state before we met Jesus and our meeting him makes it all history. Now back to my reasons.

I’ve always known that drinking was not for me because:

  1. I hate the smell of alcohol. And those who know me very well know that my sense of smell is very important to me. If I don’t like the smell of something, I don’t eat it.
  2. I find it pointless and even deceptive that for a moment I could not care about a worry in my life only to wake up with a hangover and to face all the problems in full force. And knowing that alcohol is not exactly free, that just means my money being thrown in the bin for nothing. And this is definitely something to roll my eyes about (makes no difference even if it’s free).
  3. I chanced upon this verse during one Sunday service in school:

It is not for kings, Lemuel—
it is not for kings to drink wine,
not for rulers to crave beer,
lest they drink and forget what has been decreed,
and deprive all the oppressed of their rights (Proverbs 31:4-5).

This won’t mean anything to those who are not royalty so yeah I understand this is not for everyone. But for those of us who are royals, it’s just not something that we do. It’s not in us to drink. We just don’t—we are of a higher status. And there’ll be too much at stake. Did you know Christians were the restraining power of evil in the world? That we are the reason the world hasn’t just come to an end?

Our existence is why the world is as sane as it is.

So yeah, now that’s responsibility. And a huge one at that. And it’s not for the excuses that it’s classy to drink or that everyone is doing it or that people will think I’m too Christian or narrow-minded if I don’t drink that will make me do so against my dignified lifestyle. And the odour it will leave in my mouth isn’t enough compensation either!

I stopped following the crowd a while ago and for very good reasons. I’ve decided to do me based on what purpose me’s been given. And this is just one part of it.

Leave a Reply

